Helicopter Beauty

By: Biffy's Photography

Oct 09 2012

Category: Kauai

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:24mm
ISO:250
Shutter:1/800 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark II

Day two in Kauai we had planned for a open door helicopter ride. I chose open door so I could photograph the beauty we were about to see. We were fortunate enough to be paired with a wonderful couple on their honeymoon, Amy and Mike. We were excited and nervous as the weather seemed a little iffy that morning. I was lucky enough to be seated in the front passenger seat next to the door. I felt very safe the whole time and our pilot was professional and informative. I chose not to use a polarizer, a decision I regretted later. I wanted to allow as much light in as possible and maintain a fast shutter speed. I still feel like I was able to capture the feeling we experienced. We both enjoyed every second of our 1 hour plus ride, definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Leave a Reply

